Winner Winner, Chicken Dinner

So if you’re read any of my previous blog posts, you may notice a trend that I like to cook and by cook I mean follow a recipe. We went to lunch recently at a Mongolian Grill-type place where you pick your own meats, veggies, and even spices and they cook it up before your very eyes. Way too much pressure for me with no suggested recipes to follow! So I am an average cook who doesn’t like surprises and is not much for experimenting or going beyond what the recipe calls for. My husband, Tyler, aka Kitchen MacGyver, is always whipping up something fabulous and then demurring, “I’m sure you would have come up with something similar.” Yes, in the same ways that monkeys left alone with a typewriter might eventually re-create the complete works of Shakespeare.

So, imagine my delight last night when I actually surveyed our available in-house edibles and improvised to come up with something amazing! Here is a picture of it…we both had seconds and I put the little bit of leftovers up for today’s lunch but Ty ate it as a midnight snack, which I take as a compliment! It was a simple chicken and rice casserole, but read on to see how I jazzed it up.

20151005_184047_HDR

Super Fly Yard Bird and Rice Casserole

  • 2 diced chicken breasts (I always use slightly frozen as I find them easier to slice and dice)
  • 2 cans cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 cup of milk (the 1/2 gallon remaining in our fridge expired weeks ago–note to self, clean out fridge–so I used the powdered milk that Ty insists on keeping on hand for hurricanes, zombie apocalypse, etc. Yay for being prepared for an emergency, like not having fresh milk!)
  • 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup of frozen spinach (just happened to find a smidge leftover in the freezer and figured greens are always good)
  • 1 cup rice (I used quick-cook kind)
  • 1 teaspoon of garlic salt
  • 1 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese (I used the former because it was all that was left in the can, usually I follow the motto “you can never use too much cheese”)

Mix everything together in one bowl, then pour into a casserole dish sprayed with non-stick spray. I baked it for about an hour and 15 minutes at 350 degrees and when Ty came home, he sprinkled some breadcrumbs on top and cooked for another 10-15 minutes. The perfect finishing touch that I would’ve never in a million years eventually thought of.

Bon Appetit–let me know if you try it and like it!

Leave a Reply

