A Lifetime of Bedding

20160112_065332

Recently, as I was blow drying my hair in the living room (victory over the great hair-clogging-the-bathroom-sink debate!), I looked around at the framed pics of me, Tyler, and Jack along with various other little mementos of our life together (the silver M, the shell with Jack’s collection of colored beach glass from our trip to Rhode Island, candlesticks, etc.) and my eye fell on a sky blue and gold vase that my mom found years ago to (perfectly) match my prized Pottery Barn guest bedroom duvet. The fancy matching silk throw pillows and bedding are long gone (after a guest’s run-in with a not-entirely closed can of tan paint managed to spill all over it), but I still have the vase.

And it occurred to me at that moment how big a role bedding has always played in my life. When I was a little girl, I had the most fabulous room–with the word “Rainbow” repeated over and over again in bright hues on one wall and then a colored landscape scene on the other three walls that was a cross between the Wizard of Oz and Willy Wonka. I had a queen size bed with coordinated bedding and a big metal footer and headboard with intricate perforated holes that my mom had painted white. Throw in my white desk and dresser (complete with puffy sticker collection scattered about) and stuffed animal collection, and I never wanted to leave my little haven.

20151221_070646

When I was in high school, I moved across the hall to the room vacated by my oldest brother going to college. It had a walk-in closet, which was my main reason for the change. Well, that and it was on the front side of the house with a view of the driveway, so I could see my friends coming and dash out the door without having to engage in parental pleasantries. On a trip to NY to visit my dad, I shopped at Bloomingdale’s for the first time and found the most fabulous Ralph Lauren sheets on sale: I was drawn to vibrant blue sheets and bright yellow pillow cases. When I got home, my mom painted the walls the very same yellow and rolled a blue zig-zag line across the three main walls. I felt so artistic and contemporary! I loved my high school bedroom, complete with my Conair make-up mirror with 4 light settings.

When it came time to head off to college, I picked out an innocuous cornflower blue and navy twin-sized comforter, but when I went home for Christmas, I selected a fabulous Laura Ashley set complete with pink, mattress ticking striped sheets and a reversible comforter with pink and green roses on one side and stripes on the other. It was affectionately known by all who knew me (my love of napping was pretty legendary) as “stripes and roses” (with no affiliation to Guns N’ Roses). This bedding stayed with me all the way through my senior year (moving every semester was a pain–keeping to a minimum of clothes and bedding was a necessity). From playing “comforter ghost” games in my sorority to the numerous off-campus apartments I shared with fellow sisters-in-the-bond, this bedding was well-loved and I obviously got my money’s worth!

After college, I discovered the wonders of electric blankets (affectionately known as EBs), down comforters, and feather beds. On chilly winter weekend mornings, my roommate and I would talk to each other from across the apartment, never wanting to leave the comfort of our respective bed nests. At that point, I had inherited an extra bed and bedding from my dad…muted watercolor tones reminiscent of a Monet painting. I had to draw the line at the  fuzzy “hotel” velour blankets  he so loved, though.

In the 90s, I moved to the south for the first time and discovered linen sheets for summer–divine! My bedding was mostly the (blah) standard greys and bieges of that era, and when I moved back to Kansas City, I found a fabulous block printed duvet cover, probably subconsciously purchased because the blue matched the color of my sweet Husky’s eyes. My ex kept the bedding, but I loved it so much that I purchased it again for myself in a different color palette.

20151221_070616

 

I’m back in the south now and find quilts and cotton blankets preferable for the climate…we’ve even gone through a couple of the above from when Krypto was a puppy and liked to chew on them. I replaced them with some cute dog-decorated flannel sheets to outfit Jack’s bed and for the time being, am happy with all of the bedding and numerous snuggle-worthy blankets in our home, although if I had won the Powerball this week, you can bet there would have been some upgrades made!

krypto on dog sheets

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

